SNIPEF honours rising stars in Apprentice Plumber awards

SNIPEF honours rising stars in Apprentice Plumber awards

Apprentices in the plumbing and heating sector have been recognised with the Scotland and Northern Ireland Plumbing Employers’ Federation (SNIPEF) Best Apprentice Plumber awards.

The trade association has honoured 17 apprentices from the colleges in Scotland in which they study their craft. Each one received a £100 voucher.

Fiona Hodgson, Chief Executive of SNIPEF, said: “This is the 32nd year that SNIPEF has been seeking out and rewarding the best talent among our stars. It is an accolade that they most certainly deserve.

“It is also a great tribute to employers, for the faith they have demonstrated in our people, but also to the apprentices themselves, the colleges which nurture their ambitions and the organisations such as SNIPEF which wholeheartedly support them.”

Dale Thomson, Apprentice Training Manager for SNIPEF, said: “The industry has always been very aware that its future lies in the skill and dedication of the people who are embarking on their careers at this time.

“Unlike a university further education, for which people may have to take out student loans, a plumbing apprenticeship offers the opportunity to gain a nationally recognised qualification and for apprentices to earn while they learn.”

Those picked out and honoured by their respective colleges this year include:

  • Ayrshire College. Winner: Aiden McIlroy, Derek Campbell Plumbing, Heating and Gas Services.
  • Borders College: Winner: Stephen Cairns, Mike Cairns Heating and Gas Services
  • Dundee College. Winner: Gregor McNee, Tayside Boiler Services.
  • Edinburgh College. Winner: Jack Forbes, A Alexander & Son (Electrical) Ltd
  • Fife College East. Winner: Owen Robertson, Alistair Thorpe, Cupar, Ltd
  • Forth Valley College. Winner: Hubert Parysek, Comfort Systems Plumbing & Heating Ltd.
  • Glasgow Clyde College. Winner: Kyle Shanahan, Emtec Group.
  • Glasgow Kelvin College. Winner: Matthew Strachan, Axwell Technical Services.
  • Inverness College. Winner: Kirsty Maclean, Alex Matheson Plumbing and Heating
  • Moray College. Winner: Sean Esslemont, McDonald & Munro Ltd.
  • North East Scotland College. Winner: Grant Hunter, Willie Gauld Plumbing, Heating and Renewables.
  • Perth College. Winner: Daniel Van Wyk, DM Plumbing.
  • South Lanarkshire College. Winner: Tom Gillies, BS Plumbing and Heating Services.
  • Tullos Training Ltd. Winner: Adam Myron, Heatcare Oil and Gas Ltd.
  • West College Scotland Clydebank. Winner: Ben Anderson, The Boiler Repair Man.
  • West College Scotland Greenock. Winner: Ritchie McArthur, James Paterson and Sons Plumbing and Heating.
  • West College Scotland Paisley. Winner: Paul Marshall, James Frew Ltd.

Header Image: Forth Valley College – Hubert Parysek

Related posts